We congratulate all candidates in the August 6 Democratic Primary Election. Running for office is not easy. Our Democrats showed heart and hard work, and we’re immensely proud of the effort put into running honest campaigns focused on the most pressing issues facing our state and our nation.

Now we as Democrats must regroup and redouble our efforts to ensure victory in November for all of our Democratic nominees. The issues we face are too grave, and the stakes far too high. But perhaps most importantly, the potential we have as a state and a nation is far too great to not do everything in our power to make it a reality. We congratulate our nominees in the following races and encourage our membership and voters across Shelby County to stay engaged and stay in the fight. When we fight, we win!


State House District 83 - Jerri Green
State House District 84 - Joe Towns
State House District 85 - Jesse Chism
State House District 86 - Barbara Cooper
State House District 87 - Karen Camper
State House District 88 - Larry Miller
State House District 90 - Torrey Harris
State House District 91 - London Lamar
State House District 93 - G.A. Hardaway
State House District 95 - Lynette Williams
State House District 96 - Dwayne Thompson
State House District 97 - Gabby Salinas
State House District 98 - Antonio Parkinson

State Senate District 30 - Sara Kyle
State Senate District 32 - Julie Byrd Ashworth

US Congress District 8 - Erika Stotts-Pearson
US Congress District 9 - Steve Cohen

State Executive Committeeman District 33 - Isaac V Freeman III

General Sessions Court Clerk - Joe Brown

US Senate - MarQuita Bradshaw